Bronze Quill 2013: Celebrating Creativity – RSVP Today!

Reserve your seat for the 2013 Bronze Quill Awards Celebration. Enjoy networking with other communications professionals, as we congratulate this year’s winners and announce the 2013 Communicator of the Year and John Hartman Professional of the Year. Feel free to invite guests to help celebrate your accomplishments.


Thursday, October 10, 2013

6:30 p.m. – Cocktails

7 p.m. – Dinner and Awards


Tulsa Historical Society

2445 S. Peoria Ave., Tulsa, Oklahoma


All Guests and IABC Members $35.00

Table of 8 $250.00 (Select the Registration Type “Table of 8″ to pay online for this option)

RSVP by: Friday, October 4, 2013

*If you have tickets or a table as part of your sponsorship package, register for the event but choose the “pay offline” option. Please advise check-in at the event you are attending as part of a sponsorship.


Bronze Quill 2013: Call for Entries

The IABC Bronze Quill Awards recognize outstanding employee communications, public relations, media relations, community relations, government affairs and marketing communication efforts. The Tulsa Chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators’ Bronze Quill Awards is open to all communicators – members and non-members alike – in the corporate, nonprofit, advertising, marketing and government sectors.

All entries must be submitted though the online judging system at See the categories and judging criteria.

Deadline for entries:
Early Deadline: Wed., Sept. 4
Final Deadline: Wed., Sept. 11
Awards celebration: Thurs., Oct. 10

Entries will be judged based upon stated criteria and the Work Plan provided to the judges. A select panel of communications professionals from IABC chapters in other states will judge all entries.


In conjunction with the Bronze Quill Awards, IABC Tulsa is also seeking nominations for two important individual awards:

  • Communicator of the Year: Honors a member of the community for his or her contributions to the community through communications. This person is not a communicator by profession — but by passion. Previous recipients include former TU coach Bill Self; former Tulsa mayor Susan Savage; former Williams CEO Keith Bailey; Tulsa Community College President Tom McKeon; Pierce Norton, ONEOK; and Nancy Day, executive director of the Oklahoma Center for Community and Justice (OCCJ).
  • Professional of the Year: Recognizes the outstanding achievements of an IABC member in his or her career, profession and community. Past recipients include Russ Florence, Kerry Malone, Kim MacLeod, Susie Wellendorf, Ginger Homan, ABC, Tom Droege and others.
  • Leon Bolen Chapter Service Award: Formerly the President’s Award, the award is selected by the chapter president and given to the IABC Tulsa member who has contributed/volunteered the most to the chapter over the past year.

To nominate an individual for one of these awards, contact Megan Lewis at or 918-561-5325.

We will also present a Best of Show Award to recognize the entry judged to be the most effective and creative in achieving its goals.


Congratulations to all of the winners and thank you for attending this year’s event!

Nancy Day, executive director of the Oklahoma Center for Community and Justice (OCCJ), was named the 2012 Communicator of the Year for her leadership in communication events that have made a real impact in the Tulsa community. In the past year, Day has helped to lead significant events, such as Tulsa Unites, Bully and the National Federation of Just Communities Annual Conference.

Tom Droege, account supervisor, of Rex PR, received the John Hartman Professional of the Year award. Droege was recognized for his peers as an outstanding communications professional, journalist and community adversary.

Rachel Payne-Wagner, of Walmart, and Phillip Harris, of Williams, were both awarded the Leon Bolen Service Award, which honors an IABC member for volunteerism and support of the chapter’s goals.

A list of individuals also honored for their work during the event is below.

Awards of Excellence

• Charlene Bassett, ONEOK, ONEOK Quarterly Magazine
• Tom Droege, Rex PR, The University of Tulsa Master of Energy Business Brochure
• Nicole Morgan, Rex PR, Ovarian Cancer Awareness
• Kari Culp, Schnake Turnbo Frank PR, Helping Kids Get Smart About Their Health
• Schnake Turnbo Frank PR and Hinkle Creative Services, Nothing Checking
• Jessica Carthen, Ramon Cardiel, and Kyle Vandale, FW Murphy, ‘Total Engine Integration’ EICS Product Brochure
• Juliane Spinuzzi, Ramon Cardiel, Jessica Carthen, and Pat Runnels, FW Murphy, ‘FW Murphy New Solutions Trailer’ 2012 Gas Compressor Association Conference Debut
• Shannon Frederick, Walmart, and Ginger Homan, Zia Strategy, A Story About Me
• Russell Shaffer, Walmart, “Christmas Layaway Returns for Toys and Electronics” blog
• Jarrod Kopp and Susan Hardy Brooks, Schnake Turnbo Frank PR, OK Pop Museum
• Williams and WPX Energy Internal Communications Team, The Spinoff of WPX Energy
• Melissa Clark, Clark Communications, Keep the Drive Alive – Honoring Michael P. Johnson
• Melissa Clark and Steve Turnbo, Tulsa PRSA Chapter, PRSA’s APR Recognition Dinner
• Tamara Hooks and Melissa Clark, WPX Energy, Xsite – the WPX intranet
• Tim Rucker, Byers Creative, Raymond James Rebranding

Awards of Merit

• Nicole Nascenzi, Amethyst Cavallaro, and Keith Isbell, Employee Update with Williams President and CEO Alan Armstrong
• Ward Mankin, T.D.Williamson, “Who We Are”
• Rachel Payne Wagner, Walmart, Developing our talent globally
• Brad Borror, ONEOK, ONEOK and ONEOK Partners 2011 Annual Reports and Bakken Pipeline Media Outreach
• Charlene Bassett and Rick Ayre, ONEOK, and Russell Kaufmann, Trick Dog Design, ONEOK Quarterly Design
• Megan Lewis, ONEOK, Vision Driving Progress – ONEOK Corporate Responsibility Report
• Jennifer Pigeon, ONEOK, ONEOK Implements Facebook Timeline
• Tom Droege, Rex PR, Firstar Bank Rebranding
• Nicole Longmore, ONEOK, NAPTP Investor Conference Presentation and Investor Relations Monthly
• Janet Hardy, Phillips 66, Aviation: Achieving higher altitudes of service
• Blake Loepp, Schnake Turnbo Frank PR, Coalition of Advocates for Respnsible Eldercare (CARE) RV Tour
• Russ Florence and Lucinda Rojas Ross, Schnake Turnbo Frank, Lafarge Tulsa Cement Plant – Fuel Quality Waste
• Donna Swaffar, Saint Francis Health System, Kohl’s Fun and Fit Kids
• Jessica Carthen and Ramon Cardiel, FW Murphy, ‘All Applications. All Environments.’
• Keith Isbell, Williams, The Need is Real: 2011 Williams’ Tulsa Area United Way Campaign
• Michael McCulloh, ONEOK, An Ounce of Prevention Is Worth a Pound of Cure and ONEOK Today
• Sara Delgado, Williams, Williams Midstream Customer Newsletter
• Steve Higgins, OCCJ, Tulsa Unites
• Steve Higgins, Williams, Gulfstar: Offshore Reliability, Made in America
• Nicole Nascenzi, Williams,
• Talia E. Myres and Brian Yazzie, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Cherokee Nation 2012 Government Relations
• Talia E. Myres & Stephanie Pinkston, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Where the Casino Money Goes
• WPX Energy, MODA and Byers Creative, E&PWAY Intranet Redesign
• The Branding Team for WPX Energy/Williams and WPX Energy, WPX Energy Brand Launch
• Sharon Price, Cherokee Nation Businesses, CNB-Cherokee Heritage Center Employee Membership Campaign, Elders & Kids and CNB Benefits Campaign
• Joshua Smith; Cherokee Nation Businesses, Cherokee
• Joshua Smith and Jessica Land, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Cherokee Heritage Center Giving Campaign and Inside Look
• Tim Rucker, Byers Creative, Baylor/Flintco
• Shawna Berger, Walmart, “12 Days of Giving”